Weather Alert: Colorado River Tri-State: National Weather Service issues Lake Wind Advisory in effect until Thursday afternoon.

By: Zachary Lopez (ZachNews):

Source: National Weather Service in Las Vegas, Nevada (Information):

Colorado River Tri-State: The National Weather Service in Las Vegas, Nevada has issued a Wind Advisory from 12:19 a.m. PT (1:19 a.m. MT) on Thursday, February 10th, 2022 to 4:00 p.m. PT (5:00 p.m. MT) on Thursday, February 10th, 2022 for the in Arizona, Bullhead City, Lake Havasu, Lake Mohave, and the Mohave Valley, in California, San Bernardino County- Upper Colorado River Valley including Needles, and in Nevada, Laughlin and Lake Mohave.

Communities include Lake Havasu City, Desert Hills, Topock, Bullhead City, Oatman, Mohave Valley, Needles, Hoover Dam, and Laughlin.

According to the National Weather Service, north winds 20 to 30 mph with gusts over 40 mph, and waves of over 2 feet will be possible at times on Lake Mohave.

In addition, the National Weather Service said strong wind gusts and high wave activity on area lakes will create hazardous conditions for small craft, and occasional blowing dust will be possible with highest gusts, as well as localized wind gusts over 50 mph will be possible through the morning hours for Laughlin and Bullhead City, and this could result in some minor structural damage or downed power lines.

According to the National Weather Service, precautionary/preparedness actions includes boaters on area lakes should use extra caution since strong winds and rough waves can overturn small craft.

*** Wind Advisory Post: ***

https://forecast.weather.gov/showsigwx.php?warnzone=CAZ527&warncounty=CAC071&firewxzone=CAZ229&local_place1=5%20Miles%20N%20Needles%20Airport%20CA&product1=Lake+Wind+Advisory&lat=34.8481&lon=-114.613#.YgTaCITMLIU

*** For more weather information, please go to the National Weather Service website: ***

https://www.weather.gov/

***

%d bloggers like this: