San Bernardino County, CA: Information for all boaters regarding taking the boating safety course and exam to obtain your California Boater Card.

Source: San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department’s Colorado River Station (Information and Press Release):

Picture: San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department’s Colorado River Station (Courtesy):

San Bernardino County, California: The San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department’s Colorado River Station has released publicly information for all boaters regarding taking the boating safety course and exam to obtain your California Boater Card.

According to the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department’s Colorado River Station, deputies from the Colorado River Station’s Marine Enforcement Unit is often asked questions about the California Boater Card.

Questions commonly asked are:

Do I need the card if I live in California but have a vacation house in Arizona?”

Do I need the card if I register my boat in Arizona?

The answer to both of these questions is YES.

If California is your primary place of residence, you will need a California Boater Card.

If your boat is registered in a different state and your primary residence is California, you still need a California Boater Card.

Vacation homes are not considered a primary place of residency.

The California Boater Card shows that its holder has successfully taken an approved boating safety course and passed the corresponding exam.

In California, each year a new age group is added to those who are required to possess a Boater Card.

By 2025 all persons who operate on California waters will be required to have one. Once issued, the card remains valid for a boat operator’s lifetime.

California Harbors and Navigation Code Section 678.11(b) outlines the phase-in schedule based on operator age:

• January 1, 2020 Persons 35 years of age or younger

• January 1, 2021 Persons 40 years of age or younger

• January 1, 2022 Persons 45 years of age or younger

• January 1, 2023 Persons 50 years of age or younger

• January 1, 2024 Persons 60 years of age or younger

• January 1, 2025 All persons regardless of age

Currently all California boat operators 35 years old and under are required to have in their possession a California Boater Card issued by the CA Division of Boating and Waterways.

This age increases to 40 yrs in 2021.

For information on obtaining a card go to: http://californiaboatercard.com/

State shared waterways ( i.e. Colorado River/Lake Havasu) are patrolled by law enforcement agencies from Arizona and California who have joint jurisdiction on the waterway.

This is generally considered high water mark to high water mark.

There is no Arizona or California side of the waterway when it comes to enforcement.

The San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department is dedicated to providing a safe boating atmosphere for the public and urges everyone to boat sober and wear a life jacket.

For more information regarding safe boating practices, visit the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways web site at: http://www.dbw.ca.gov/

For press releases, news, and information follow the Colorado River Station (@CORiverStation) on Twitter.

Refer: Corporal Travis Vessells
Colorado River Station Marine Enforcement Unit
Phone No: (760)326-9200

*** Public Press Release: ***

https://local.nixle.com/alert/8220540/

*** Public Tweet via Twitter: ***

***

%d bloggers like this: