Breaking News!!: California: California Supreme Court blocks measure that would split California into 3 separate states.

Breaking News!!: California: California Supreme Court blocks measure that would split California into 3 separate states.

The California Supreme Court has blocked a measure that would split California into 3 separate states from appearing on the November 2018 ballot.

The decision by the California Supreme Court came during a closed session meeting on Wednesday, July 18th, 2018.

In a brief order, the California Supreme Court said they acted because “significant questions have been raised regarding the proposition’s validity and because we conclude that the potential harm in permitting the measure to remain on the ballot outweighs the potential harm in delaying the proposition to a future election.”

The California Supreme Court also agreed in the meantime to consider a challenge to the measure filed last week by the Planning and Conservation League, an environmental group.

The group contends that the measure amounts to a proposed revision of California’s Constitution, which can be placed on the ballot only if two-thirds of both houses of the Legislature approved.

Supporters of CAL 3 said last month they collected and delivered 600,000 signatures to California Secretary of State Alex Padilla’s Office, surpassing the 365,000 required by law to qualify for the ballot.

CAL 3 is led by Tim Draper, and the measure calls for the spliting of California into 3 separate states to be formed; Northern California, roughly the Bay Area to the Oregon border; California, which would include 6 coastal counties, including Los Angeles, Monterey, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Ventura; and Southern California, which would go from Fresno to San Diego, excluding those 6 coastal counties.

**** The following is a list breaking down the counties in each region in the 3 states: ****

** Northern California: **

  • Alameda
  • Alpine
  • Amador
  • Butte
  • Calaveras
  • Colusa,
  • Contra Costa
  • Del Norte
  • El Dorado
  • Glenn
  • Humboldt
  • Lake
  • Lassen
  • Marin
  • Mariposa
  • Mendocino
  • Merced
  • Modoc
  • Napa
  • Nevada
  • Placer
  • Plumas
  • Sacramento
  • San Francisco
  • San Joaquin
  • San Mateo
  • Santa Clara
  • Santa Cruz
  • Sierra
  • Siskiyou
  • Shasta
  • Solano
  • Sonoma
  • Stanislaus
  • Sutter
  • Tehama
  • Trinity
  • Tuolumne
  • Yolo
  • Yuba

** California: **

  • Los Angeles
  • Monterey
  • San Benito
  • San Luis Obispo
  • Santa Barbara
  • Ventura

** Southern California: **

  • Fresno
  • Imperial (twice)
  • Inyo
  • Kern
  • Kings
  • Madera
  • Mono
  • Orange
  • Riverside
  • San Bernardino
  • San Diego
  • Tulare County

The completion of the 3 state split of California measure plan — far from certain, given its many hurdles at judicial, state and federal levels — would make history, and would be the first division of an existing United States of America state since the creation of West Virginia in 1863.

%d bloggers like this: