California: California lawmakers approved raising minimum wage to $15.00 an hour.


California: California lawmakers approved raising minimum wage to $15.00 an hour.

California legislature approved a bill on Thursday, March 31, 2016 raising the minimum wage to $15.00 an hour that would take effect by 2022.

The California Assembly passed SB3 with a 48-26 vote followed by the California Senate vote 26-12.

The increases would start with a boost from $10.00 to $10.50 on January 1st.

Businesses with 25 or fewer employees would have an extra year to comply. Increases of $1.00 an hour would come every January until 2022.

The California Governor could delay increases in times of budgetary or economic downturns.

The bill will go to California Governor Jerry Brown who says he will sign the bill into law on Monday, April 4th, 2016.

California Governor Jerry Brown says the bill proves again that California can get things done and help people get ahead.

Currently, California’s minimum wage of $10.00 an hour is tied with Massachusetts for the highest among states.

Democrats lawmakers say the increase is a boost to the more than 2 million Californian’s poorest workers, and is an example to the nation as it struggles with a growing gap between rich and poor.

But, Republicans lawmakers echoed fears from business owners and economists that the annual increases – eventually tied to inflation – will compound California’s image as hostile to business.

Some California lawmakers say the increases are projected to eventually cost California taxpayers an additional $3.6 billion annually for higher government employee pay.

** Stay tuned to ZachNews for more news updates with more information regarding this news story. **

%d bloggers like this: