News Update!!: Columbia, MD: Mall shooting in Columbia, Maryland.

zachnews-news-update-logo

News Update!!: Columbia, MD: Mall shooting in Columbia, Maryland.

 

**** Latest information as of 5:19pm ET / 2:19pm PT on Saturday, January 25th, 2014. ****

 

– Source: Howard County Police Department on Twitter:

 

Victim IDs: Brianna Benlolo, 21, of College Park MD & Tyler Johnson, 25, of Ellicott City MD. Both employees of Zumiez. Motive still unknown”

 

** From Howard County Police Department on Twitter: **

 

https://twitter.com/HCPDNews @HCPDNews

 

 

**** Information updated at 4:10pm ET / 1:10pm PT on Saturday, January 25th, 2014. ****

 

– Information from 4:00pm ET police department news conference:

 

According to the Howard County Police Department Bill McMahon Chief, the Mall in Columbia, “Mall has been cleared” of all people and the mall will not be opening for the remained of the day.

 

According to the Howard County Police Department Bill McMahon Chief, call came in at 11:15am ET of a shooting at the mall.

 

According to the Howard County Police Department Bill McMahon Chief, the shooting happen, “In and outside the Zumiez store” which located on the upper level floor of the Mall in Columbia.

 

According to the Howard County Police Department Bill McMahon Chief, authorities located 3 people dead; 2 victims who were shot and killed were in their early 20’s and were described as a, “adult male and adult female,” and “both are employees of the store.”

 

Authorities are checking the deceased shooter to make sure that there is any devices on the shooter.

 

According to the Howard County Police Department Bill McMahon Chief, “We have no knowledge of this being a domestic dispute; we can not confirmed that.” There is no confirmed motive in this mall shooting.

 

According to the Howard County Police Department Bill McMahon Chief, shooter was a male.

 

According to the Howard County Police Department Bill McMahon Chief, the weapon was used in the mall shooting was “a shotgun.”

 

According to the Howard County Police Department Bill McMahon Chief, victims both inside and outside the store.

 

There will be no more press briefings for the rest of the day.

 

Everybody can check for updates and the latest information at the following Howard County Police Department on Twitter website address:

 

https://twitter.com/HCPDNews

 

@HCPDNews

 

– According to a Howard County General Hospital Official, 5 patients are being treated at the hospital and “are all in good condition.”

 

The store in which where the shooting happened has been identified as the Zumiez store which sells cutting edge clothing, footwear, accessories, and gear for skateboarding, snowboarding, and surf lifestyles for guys, girls, and kids.

 

– At least 5 people are reportedly injured.

 

– Both County and State agencies have responded to this mall shooting.

 

 

**** Information updated at 3:44pm ET / 12:44pm PT on Saturday, January 25th, 2014. ****

 

– Source: Howard County Police Department on Twitter:

 

Motive of shooting is unknown. Not determined to be domestic or any other cause at this time. Any other reports are complete speculation.”

 

Police have NOT confirmed the shooting at #ColumbiaMall was domestic. Do not know ID of suspect and have NO info abt being known to victims”

 

** From Howard County Police Department on Twitter: **

 

https://twitter.com/HCPDNews @HCPDNews

 

– Reports of between 4 to 5 people were injured.

 

 

**** Information updated at 2:23pm ET / 11:23am PT on Saturday, January 25th, 2014. ****

 

– Source: Howard County Police Department on Twitter:

 

#ColumbiaMall will be closed at least through tonight. We will update as plans are confirmed for reopening.”

 

Howard County General Hospital has confirmed they are treating a victim from mall who suffered gunshot wound to foot.”

 

** From Howard County Police Department on Twitter: **

 

https://twitter.com/HCPDNews @HCPDNews

 

– Reports of at least 4 people were injured.

 

 

**** Information updated at 1:41pm ET / 10:41am PT on Saturday, January 25th, 2014. ****

 

At least 3 people are dead in a shooting inside the Mall in Columbia located at 10300 Little Patuxent Pkwy in Columbia, Maryland.

 

Authorities received the 911 calls at around 11:15am ET of a number of shots fired on the upper leave of the mall.

 

At least 3 people are dead including possibly the shooter.

 

No identity on the victims, the shooter, or motive of the shooting.

 

Authorities are working to clear the mall and they are confidence that a single shooter was involved in this shooting.

 

More information is still being collected.

 

%d bloggers like this: